PLATO (Philosophy Learning and Teaching Organization)
K-12 Philosophy Teaching Award

2016 PLATO K-12 Philosophy Teacher Award

Deadline: Nominations, with all supporting materials, are due January 31, 2016.

Summary: To recognize and reward excellence in teaching philosophy, PLATO will give one award to a K-12 classroom teacher in the U.S.

Award: The winning teacher will receive an award of $1,000, a one-year membership in PLATO, and an invitation to speak at the next PLATO Conference.

Eligibility and Criteria: Eligible candidates are U.S. classroom teachers at the primary and secondary levels who regularly offer (a) philosophy classes or (b) philosophy sessions as part of teaching other classroom subjects.

Nomination procedure:

(1) A letter of nomination that describes the candidate for the award and the importance of his or her contribution to the instructional environment. Self-nominations will be accepted.

(2) A statement from the candidate of his or her philosophy about teaching philosophy at the pre-college level (1 page).

(3) A description of a philosophy session or sessions taught by the teacher, as follows:

(A) A written description of the session or sessions, including the techniques

used; OR

(B) A sample syllabus or syllabi or lesson plan(s) (no more than 5); OR

(C) A video of a K-12 philosophy session that the teacher organized and led.

(4) A reflection about the session or sessions described in response to (3) above (no more than 1 page).


Please submit all materials electronically to

The Award Selection Committee may, at its discretion, solicit additional information.
Questions may be directed to 



2015 Excellence in Teaching Philosophy: 

The Knisely Award for high school teachers was presented to Stephan Miller of the Oakwood Friends School in New York.

2014 Excellence in Teaching Philosophy:

The Knisely Award for High School Teachers was presented to Carl Rosin, an English and philosophy teacher at Radnor High School in Wayne, PA. Two special awards for excellence in philosophy teacher by non-classroom teachers were given to: Lin Josephson, who has been teaching philosophy at South Mountain Elementary School in South Orange, NJ. Jesse Walsh, who has been teaching philosophy to underserved middle school students at St. Martin de Porres Academy in New Haven, CT.